Voice of Sport

Kenya slice Group ‘A’ like hot knife through butter; Group ‘B’ proves more competitive

Malkia Strikers, eight-time champions of Africa are looking ahead to stiffer competition in the knock-out stage

KENYA play their third game of the Africa Cup of Nation’s women’s volleyball championship against Botswana at the Safaricom Arena, Nairobi on Monday afternoon.

After wins over Mauritius and Algeria, the defending champion hosts booked a place from Group ‘A’ for the semi-finals. But the Kenyans will be hoping to finish unbeaten. However, second-placed Botswana look to be no pushovers.

Eight titles

Senegal are surprise leaders of Group ‘B’ and aim to beat Morocco to consolidate their position in a group comprising past winners Tunisia and Cameroon, beaten finalists by Kenya in the last tournament

Kenya are a record eight-time winners of the Cup of Nations, their first title coming in 1991 in Cairo. The Malkia Strikers are also champions of the past two tournaments, 2011 and ’13,  held in Nairobi.

2015 Africa Cup of Nations (women):


Monday, June 15:

Tunisia v Cameroon, Group ‘B’, 10.00 am
Morocco v Senegal, Group ‘B’, 12.00pm
Algeria v Mauritius, Group ‘A’, 2.00pm
Kenya v Botswana, Group ‘A’ 4.00pm


Group ‘A’:

Kenya 3-0 Algeria 25-20, 25-22, 25-19

Kenya 3-0 Mauritius 25-12, 25-13, 25-17

Botswana 3-1 Mauritius 25-22, 23-25, 25-23, 25-15

Algeria 3-1 Botswana 25-17, 17-25, 25-20, 25-15

Group ‘B’:

Cameroon 3-0 Morocco 25-17, 25-18, 25-15.

Senegal 3-2 Cameroon 20-25, 25-27, 25-16, 30, 25-16, 25-20, 15-13

Senegal 3-2 Tunisia 14-25, 17-25, 25-18, 25-20, 15-12

Tunisia 3-1 Morocco 24-26, 25-17, 25-21, 25-13

Africa Cup of Nations volleyball (women):


1976 (Port Said, Egypt):           Egypt beat Tunisia          Bronze medal – Morocco

1985 (Tunis, Tunisia):                Tunisia bt Egypt           B – Cameroon

1987 (Casablanca, Morocco):   Tunisia bt Morocco   B – Egypt

1989 (Port Louis, Mauritius):      Egypt bt Mauritius     B – Madagascar

1991 (Cairo, Egypt):                   Kenya bt Egypt           B – Cameroon

1993 (Llovin, Nigeria):              Kenya bt Egypt           B- Nigeria

1995 (Nairobi, Kenya):            Kenya bt Nigeria       B – Tunisia

1997 (Nairobi, Kenya):            Kenya bt Nigeria     B – Angola

1999 (Lagos, Nigeria):                    Tunisia bt Cameroon  B- Nigeria

2001 (Port Harcourt, Nigeria):   Seychelles bt Nigeria  B- Cameroon

2003 (Nairobi, Kenya):              Egypt bt Kenya         B- Cameroon

2005 (Abuja, Nigeria):                 Kenya bt Nigeria       B- Egypt

2007 (Nairobi, Kenya):            Kenya bt Algeria     B – Tunisia

2009 (Batna, Algeria):                 Algeria bt Tunisia    B – Cameroon

2011 (Nairobi, Kenya):            Kenya bt Algeria      B – Egypt

2013 (Nairobi, Kenya):            Kenya bt Cameroon, B – Tunisia

2015 (Nairobi, Kenya):                 ??                 ??                   ??