Voice of Sport

Jassi Chatthe wins in Nanyuki afte ‘sting-in-the-tail’ last stage

The rally which had a long stage in a game conservancy turned out to be quite a wild ride for both crews and their machines

JASPREET Chatthe of Team Kibos, fresh from victory in the Tanzania leg of the African Rally Championship returned to win the Kenya National Rally Championship round of the Kenya Commercial Bank M-Benki Nanyuki Rally on Saturday.

The event was decided on the last stage of the day which had been dubbed the power stage and incredibly it proved to be the sting in the tale.

Expected to be clear winners of the main class and the 2wd category Carl Tundo and Adnan Soheil came to grief on the short three kilometre stage in front of the mammoth crowd that had turned out to watch. After the dust settled, “Jassi” emerged victorious.

Claimed two thirds

The rally which had a long stage in a game conservancy turned out to be quite a wild ride for both crews and their machines. Three short stages were done on Friday, for a total distance of 126km with only 19km competitive.

Day Two would cover 242Km with 110km competitive.

The Friday run was considered by many as a shakedown; a warm-up for the main rally on Saturday. However, Friday claimed two thirds of the formidable Kabras Sugar Team with brothers Onkar and Tejvir bowing out on the transport II and in Kisima stage respectively.

Estimated times

This left Baldev Chager as the sole Kabras flag bearer.

Day Two started dramatically as Hardip Rhesi, who was lying ninth at the time, rolled his vehicle in the second run of the Turaco Farm stage.

The stage was subsequently delayed slightly but did not affect the overall estimated times for the rally. The long Loldoiga stage was a test of concentration and endurance with any lapse being punished as many drivers found out.

It was double celebration for Chatte who now tops two of Africa’s motor sport championships.
Chatte leads overall standings of the KCB Kenya National Rally Championship [KNRC] following the maiden victory in the KCB Nanyuki Rally. He is also joint leader of the African Rally Championship [ARC] with Cote d’Ivoire’s Gary Chanyes after winning the Tanzanian round a fortnight ago.

Safari next

With Safari Rally next in line, Chatte leads the KNRC with 210 points followed by Baldev Chager (200), Carl Tundo (176), Rajbir Rai (170) and Jasmeet Channa (156) respectively.

The overall title race remains wide open with a maximum of 280 points to score from the last three rounds. The Safari Rally offers the biggest share of the points (120).


2014 KNRC KCB M-Benki Nanyuki Rally:

1. Jaspreet Chatthe/Dave Sihoka (EVOX) 1h49m33s

2. Raaji Bharij/Jasneil S. Ghataure (EVO9) 1h54m16s

3. Azar Anwar/Julius Ngige (EVO8) 1h55m08s
4. Jasmeet Chana/Ravi Chana (EVO9) 1h57m18s

5. Issa Amwari/Job Njiru (EVO9) 2h00m56s

6. Steve Mwangi/Steven Nyorri (Subaru N10) 2h03m16s

7. Karan Patel/Tauseef Khan (Subaru gc8) 2h04m05s

8. Anwar Pandya/Dipps Mehangra (Subaru) 2h04m28s

9. Carl Tundo/Tim Jessop (EVO9) 2h02m39s

10. Ronak Shah/Riyaz Ismail (Subaru N12B) 2h05m34s

11. Mahesh Halai/Ketan Halai (Subaru) 2h06m45s
12. James Kirimi/Evans Mwenda (Subaru) 2h07m06s

13. Jonathan Somen/Richard Hecle (Ford Escort) 2h07m43s

14. Hussein Malik/George Mwangi (EVO6) 2h07m54s

15. Steve Gacheru /Linet Ayuko (Subaru N10) 2h10m24s
16. Paras Pandya/Falgun Bhojak (Subaru) 2h13m05s

17. Waigwa Murage/Tuta Mionki (Subaru) 2h13m06s

18. Leonardo Varese/Kigo Kareithi (Toyota Corolla RSI) 2h17m28s
19. Dennis Mwenda/Edward Njoroge (Toyota Sprinter GT) 2h18m16s

20. Gurmit Thethy/Depinder Kalsi (VW Golf MK3) 2h19m43s
21. Nadeem Kana/James Mwangi (Subaru) 2h19m44s

22. Rashid Kabi/Allan Muhindi (Subaru) 2h21m09s

23. Taiti Wachira/Eric Nzuva (EVO6) 2h21m43s.

24. Eric Njogu/Tony Kimondo (Subaru Impreza N8) 2h24m16s

25. Sammy Nyorri/Ida Tallam (Toyota Vitz) 2h26m35s

26. Ramesh Vishram/Rohit “Ro Ro” Bhudia (Ford Escort MKII) 2h28m30s

27. Nikhil Sachania/ C. Singh (Mitsubishi Challenger) 2h28m31s

28. Chandrakant Devji/Jonathan Kosgei (Subaru) 2h28m58

29. Joan Nesbitt/Tamara Jones (Toyota Tercel) 2h37m58s

30. Alex Lairangi/Tony Gichohi (VW Golf MKII) 2h43m24s

– Additional reporting by KMSF