Voice of Sport

Wanga enjoying football in Sudan as he scores again for his team El Merreikh

The Kenya striker is also in the 20-strong El Merreikh team announced last Thursday to take part in the 2014 Cecafa Kagame Cup Club Championship in Kigali

ALLAN Wanga scored the all-important goal on Saturday that put his El Merreikh team into the final of the Sudan Cup.

The Kenyan forward’s 83rd minute strike gave El Merreikh the 1-0 victory over Al Ahly Shandy at Khartoum and now El Merreikh will meet bitter rivals Al Hilal in the season-ending final.

The Kenya striker barely had time to rest after arriving in Khartoum from Kenya where he had joined his national team for an Africa Cup of Nations [AFCON] qualifier, away to Lesotho last Sunday.

Return to Kenya

And in fact it was a turn-around journey because Wanga was to return back to Kenya immediately as Kenya will be playing the AFCON qualifier return match in Nairobi on Sunday.

Wanga humbly accepted being the club hero in the match saying: “I thank God because it’s been a bit hectic for me. I came into the game in the second half ‘cos I travelled back here just one day ago from Kenya.

“Well, this goal is good for the team because it put us in the final. I will be travelling back to Kenya almost immediately because I have a crucial match for my national team against Lesotho on the weekend.”


Wanga joined El Merreikh from Kenyan Premier League’s AFC Leopards during the Kenyan short transfer window in June. Prior to Saturday, he had played on Sudan League match for El Merreikh and his comment about football in Sudan was:

“It’s a good league with good teams. Most of the players are tactically good. Technically also they play good football. I have played two games against good sides. The league is very competitive.”

And El Merreikh’s prospects of winning the Cup: “Winning against Al Ahly Shandy is a real morale booster because they are really good. As for the moment, we just concentrate on our next [League] match as we wait for the final.”

Cecafa squad

Meanwhile, Wanga will be in the 20-strong El Merreikh team announced last Thursday to take part in the 2014 Cecafa Kagame Cup Club Championship in Kigali between August 8 and 24.

The Sudan giants, winners of the Cecafa [Council of East and Central Africa Football Associations] regional title only in 1986 and 1994, confirmed their 25-man travelling party to the organisers.

The El Merreikh squad will consist of four other foreign players including Uganda teenager Salim Omar Magoola, 19 and key forwards Mohamed Traore of Mali and Serge Pascal Wawa of Cote d’Ivoire. The other is veteran Egyptian Ayman Said Mohammed Ali, 35.

The side also includes Mohamed Mustafa Mohamed, the baby of the team at only 18-years-old.

El Merreikh Sports Club, Sudan:

2014 Cecafa Kagame Cup

El Merreikh Sports Club, Sudan:

2014 Cecafa Kagame Cup

Name                                                                       Date of birth Age Nationality
1. Ahmed Elbasha ADAM ELBASHA  1-1-1982 32   Sudan
2. Ahmed Abdalla ADAM ALI 17-8-1989 24 Sudan
3. Alaeldin Yousif HADO KANO 3-1-1984 30   Sudan
4. Ali Gafar HUSSIEN SALIH   1-1-1986 28     Sudan
5. Amir Kama Suliman MOHAMED SALIH                24-7-1992 22  Sudan
6. Balla GABIR KORTOKAILA                                      12-9-1985 28  Sudan
7. Faisal Musa HUSSIEN IDRIS                                       1/1/1985 29 Sudan
8. Mohamed TRAORE                                                  15-11-1988 25 Mali
9. Serge PASCAL WAWA 1-1-1986 28  Cote d’Ivoire
10. Ragi ABDALATE ABDALLA 1-1-1990  24 Sudan
11. Ramadhan Agab SHAREIF FEREIN 19-9-1989 24   Sudan
12. Eihab Mohamed ABDELFATAH MOHAMED         10/7/1987 27 Sudan
13. Salim OMAR MAGOOLA 27-7-1995 19 Uganda
14. Bakhit HAMIS MOHAMED 1-1-1994 20  Sudan
15. Magdi MOHAMED ABDELATIF 1-1-1988 26  Sudan
16. Ismail ELSIDIG ADAM 3-6-1986 28 Sudan
17. Ahmed Abakar MOHAMED BAHAR 12-7-1989 25  Sudan
18. Mohammed MUSTAFA MOHAMED 19-2-1996 18 Sudan
19. Ayman Said MOHAMED ALI 20-8- 1979  35   Egypt
20. Allan WANGA 26-11-1985 28   Kenya



21. Hatim Abdel GAFAAR IBRAHIM       1-1-1958       Sudan

22. lgaili ABDELKHAIR AGABNA             13-6-1956     Sudan

23. Burhaneldin YOUSIF TIA AHMED   1-1-1965       Sudan

24. Muhsin Asyed Osman Elamin            28-11-1973    Sudan

25. Emadeldin AABDIN ALI                     7-2-1969       Sudan